What an amazing weekend in the old pueblo. As usual the weather was spectacular although a bit warm. It was Homecoming weekend which comes with its own baggage but we managed. Saturday morning was busy as I had to be at the Student Showcase to show my graduate work, as it turns out I won my category and put a pile of cash in my pocket, not to shabby. Kate and I grilled and ate outside then pedaled over to Reed park to see Calexico on the lawn. Nice show, lots of great people around to share the evening with.

Sunday was a bike ride in the desert, classic TMP stuff. I threw a fresh new Reba on the front of the bike, making this my first ride on any sort of suspension in a few years. As it turns out, squishy forks have their place although I think I still prefer steep techy climbing on the Pace even if it does make the front of the bike feel like it is stabbing into the ground.

Reba_01 Reba_02

Watering hole

Sunday afternoon was preparations for the All Souls Procession Katie and got dressed up and made up then pedaled downtown where we gathered with friends to witness the second and formal marriage of Mateo and Mary. A small ceremony was held to commemorate their year of life as committed souls and finally sign those legal documents. Following the ceremony we all processed to 4th ave to join the rest of the souls in the parade. High energy, great performance by many and good times had by all.

 

