The past week has had me taking it easy, trying to get some healing done on the hip. A visit to the doctor got me a diagnosis of tendonitis and a prescription for physical therapy. Early in the week I took it very easy, not moving around too much and staying off the bike. During the day, my hip felt pretty good and I was steadily getting back some range of motion. Nighttime though has had me tossing and turning, dreaming of riding my bike and waking up to sudden shots of agony.

Heat, ice, stretch repeat.

Wednesday I decided to pedal into work and it worked out pretty well, no pain, and no aftershocks. Thursday I did the same and decided I had to get out to test the waters for a planned (and now delayed) big adventure on the calendar for the weekend. I pedaled up to TMP and set off to hike a bit in the park, Hidden Canyon, and into the Yetman trail. 20 minutes in to the hike and my hip was not happy.

One step forward, two steps back. Now, I’m getting into some core strengthening and some stretches for the psoas, keeping with the ice, heat routine.

In the meantime, I still can’t get the AZT out of my mind and I’m constantly dreaming of other big adventures. I’ve wanted to do some gear modifications and fabrication in the ‘on the bike storage department’ and Friday night, I sat down in front of my non-functional sewing machine and decided I was going to fix it. Take it apart, do some googling, and finally find the problem and solution, timing issues. After some trial and error, I was able to correct the timing and get the machine fully functional.Throughout the weekend, I tossed around some ideas, made some patterns, took apart some de-comissioned backpacks and put together two pieces. A fuel Cell for the top tube, and a handlebar bag for clothing etc. Both turned out a bit smaller thank I had planned and need revisions at some point but largely (considering I’ve never sewed more than a button on a shirt), I’ll give the effort a two-thumbs up learning experience.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Both pieces are similar to current offerings in the bikepacking world although my craft leaves much to be desired. The fuel cell ended up smaller than I wanted, but still holds plenty of bars. The handlebar bag is similar to a Carousel Design Works bag, with roll top closures on each side. I like prefer this method over a harness/stuffsack combination as it gives me access to whats inside without taking the bag off the bike. It too ended up smaller than I would have liked but would be suitable for summer time bikepacking. The only thing i purchased for these projects is a spool of thread and $5 worth of velcro. I canibalized pieces from two backpacks, and a spare xtracycle bag. I had a few yards of silnylon laying around for some reason so I used it for pieces of both projects. It might be fine for the fuel cell but I think durability will be a big issue. Frame and seat bags are next.

